Stephen Secures RGSC Title as JR Crowned Series Champion

It was high summer in RGSC on Sunday as over 130 players took part in the scratch cup in Kingswood. It was a top quality field with the reigning All Ireland champion – Liam O’Donovan, Matchplay runner up – Damien Fleming, Irish Open champion – Eamon Gibney and the Dublin champs Chris Gallagher & David Hayden. The series leader and winner of the last 3 scratch cups in the capital JR Crangle was there as well. Scoring was good and Stephen Murray lead the way on -15 after 36, three clear of RGSC’s John Lawlor and a plethora of players lying a further shot back on -11. With the fading light the top 12 played off to  shotgun start and just as well with the last pairing finishing in the dark. It was certainly the most counties represented at the series with players from Louth, Meath, Offaly, Limerick, Kerry and Dublin represented in the final 12. Stephen Murray maintained his lead throughout and triumphed by three shots in the end with Gary Healy finishing 2nd on -17. Tracey McGrath once again won the ladies event with a 97 and Old County completed their treble with wins for Eric Byrne & Luke Birrell in theInters & Juniors. RGSC Marie Dooley won the ladie 11-18 prize.
JR Crangle did not get a  podium finish in RGSC but he still finished top of the pile  with Chris Gallagher 2nd, Mark Millar 3rd and Gary Healy 4th in the series standings.
Tracey McGrath won the ladies event with Siobhan Keely 2nd and Glenda Hoey – 3rd.  John Delaney from St,Bridget’s was 2nd with Luke Birrell from Old County winning the junior event.
Well done to all who played in the series and especially the winners above for their consistent fine scoring throughout the series.

RGSC Scratch Cup Winner – Stephen Murray

JR CRangle – Dublin Scratch Cup Series Winner – 2014